Established in 1901 by Henry Chancery White in Front Street, Pegswood as a Joiner, Cartwright and Undertakers.
Known locally as ‘Teasie’ White’s, The Joiners Shop boasts at being one of the first building to have ever been built in Pegswood village!
The business continued operating as a Cartwright until the last wheel rolled out in 1953.
Teasie’s nephew, Leslie Kinghorn, joined the family business in the late fifties aged 15 followed shortly after by Leslie’s son, Raymond.
Teasie worked until his early 80’s then handed the business over to Leslie where he continued to run the business with his son Raymond.
By the early sixties, the business started the manufacture of sectional timber buildings such as sheds, garages and greenhouses.
In 1968 Raymond took over the business. Not having any sons, Raymond was forced to hire a local craftsmen to aid in his work.
In the late nineties after a major refurbishment to the chapel of rest, the funeral side to the business was sold and the main focus of the business was now bespoke timber buildings.
Still in the same building today, H.C. White Ltd. has grown to be the successful business that it is today solely by word of mouth and holds a reputation second to none.
Pictured (left to right) Henry White, Josh & Teasdale